

SECRETARIAT

AS/Cdh (2015) CB 01 29 January 2015

To the members of the Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 27 January 2015

The Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights, meeting in Strasbourg on 27 January 2015, with Lord John Tomlinson (United Kingdom, SOC), oldest member present, as regards:

- Election of the Chairperson of the committee: elected, by acclamation, Mr Klaas De Vries (Netherlands, SOC) as Chairperson;
- Election of the three Vice-Chairpersons of the committee: elected, by acclamation, Mr Rait Maruste (Estonia, ALDE), Ms Alina Ştefania Gorghiu (Romania, EPP/CD), and Ms Nataša Vučković (Serbia, SOC) as 1st, 2nd and 3rd Vice-Chairpersons, respectively;
- Briefing session: approved, unanimously, Guidelines applicable to committee meetings, and discussed criteria to be applied when evaluating candidatures for the office of Judge on the European Court of Human Rights;
- Next meetings: took note of the forthcoming meetings of the committee as follows:
 - Paris, 30-31 March 2015 (Council of Europe Office)
 - Paris, 9-10 June 2015 (Council of Europe Office)
 - Paris, 18 September 2015 (Council of Europe Office) (if necessary)
 - Paris, 14 December 2015 in the afternoon (Council of Europe Office) (if necessary)

Andrew Drzemczewski

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly

Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of political groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe