## Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



## TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR WOMEN AND MEN

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly Synopsis No. 2007/006 and 007 8 June 2007

**The Committee on Equal Opportunities for Women and Men**, meeting in Strasbourg on 4 June 2007 with Ms Bilgehan (Turkey, SOC) in the Chair:

- heard reports on the implementation of the parliamentary dimension of the *Council of Europe campaign "Stop domestic violence against women"* made by:
  - Ms Maria Rosa Ferrer Obiols, contact parliamentarian for Andorra
  - Ms Gular Ahmadova, contact parliamentarian for Azerbaijan
  - Ms Carina Hägg, contact parliamentarian for Sweden
- had a preliminary exchange of views on the preparation of the report on "Parliaments united in combating domestic violence against women: mid-term assessment" (Rapporteur: Mr Mendes Bota, Portugal, EPP/CD);
- held the 2<sup>nd</sup> co-ordination meeting of the contact parliamentarians involved in the parliamentary dimension of the Council of Europe campaign "Stop domestic violence against women" with the participation of:
  - Mr Jan Kleijssen, Director, Directorate General of Human Rights and Legal Affairs
  - Ms Hilary Fisher, Chairperson, Council of Europe Task Force to Combat Violence against Women, including Domestic Violence
  - Mr Chris Green, Executive Director of the White Ribbon Campaign United Kingdom, Member of the Council of Europe Task Force to Combat Violence against Women, including Domestic Violence

**and,** meeting on 5 June 2007, with Ms Hilary Fisher, Chairperson of the Council of Europe Task Force to Combat Violence against Women, including Domestic Violence in the Chair:

- In the framework of the Council of Europe campaign to combat violence against women, including domestic violence, held a *joint meeting of the contact parliamentarians and the national focal points* with the participation of:

CC Secretary General of the Assembly
Director General and Director of the Assembly
All staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Director Generals
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General
Director of Communication and Research
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

- Mr Terry Davis, Secretary General, Council of Europe
- Mr Pēteris Kārlis Elferts, Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Latvia to the Council of Europe, Thematic Co-ordinator on Gender Equality of the Committee of Ministers
- Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Chairperson of the Committee on Equal Opportunities for Women and Men, Contact parliamentarian, Turkey
- Ms Sandra Barnes, Member of the Committee on Social Cohesion of the Congress of the Council of Europe
- Ms Carina Hägg, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on violence against women of the Committee on Equal Opportunities for Women and Men, Contact parliamentarian, Sweden
- Ms Dubravka Šimonović, Vice-Chair, Council of Europe Task Force
- Ms Line Nærsnes, Senior adviser, Department of Police, Ministry of Justice, National Focal Point, Norway
- Ms Marlene Rupprecht, Member of the Bundestag, Contact parliamentarian, Germany
- Ms Gemma Gallego-Sánchez, Judge, Madrid, Spain
- Ms Funmi Johnson, Crown Prosecution Service, United Kingdom
- Mr André Konze, Programme Manager of the "Police and Human Rights beyond 2000 Programme" of the Council of Europe and former Head of Police Department of the City of Hagen, Germany
- Ms Rosa Logar, member of the Council of Europe Task Force, Domestic Abuse Intervention Centre, Vienna, Austria
- Ms Tracy Morrison, Specialist Domestic Violence Courts Programme Manager, Her Majesty's Courts Service, United Kingdom
- Ms Angela Nake, European Women Lawyers' Association and Menz and Partner Law Firm, Germany
- Ms Päivi Yli-Pietilä, Gender Equality Unit, Finance and Planning Department, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Focal Point, Finland
- Ms Zuzana Vranova, State Advisor, Department on Family and Gender Policy, Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Family, Focal Point, Slovakia
- Ms Sotiroulla Charalambous, Chair of the Standing Committee on Equal Opportunities for Men and Women of the House of Representatives, Contact parliamentarian, Cyprus
- Ms Ann Hamilton, Chair of the Board of Trustees, Zero Tolerance Charitable Trust, United Kingdom
- Ms Esengul Civelek, Director General on the Status and Problems of Women, Office of the Prime Minister, Focal Point, Turkey
- Mr José Mendes Bota, Rapporteur on "Parliaments united in combating domestic violence against women: mid-term assessment", Contact parliamentarian, Portugal
- Ms Maud de Boer-Buquicchio, Deputy Secretary General, Council of Europe

Tanja Kleinsorge / Sylvie Affholder / Jannick Devaux / Lamine Diallo