

http://assembly.coe.int



AS/EGA/synopsis (2012) 02 22 March 2012

Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

Synopsis N° 2012/2

The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, meeting in Paris on 20 March 2012, with Ms Acketoft (Sweden, ALDE) in the Chair,

observed a minute of silence for the victims of the shootings which took place in Toulouse and Montauban.

As regards:

- Gender equality and the status of women in the Council of Europe southern neighbourhood (Rapporteur: Ms Saïdi, Belgium, SOC): heard a statement by the Rapporteur on her fact-finding visits to Morocco (15 18 February 2012) and Tunisia (19 21 February 2012); considered and approved a draft report; decided to change the title of the report to 'Equality between women and men: a condition for the success of the Arab Spring'; unanimously adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation, in view of a debate to be held during the April part-session 2012;
- **Hearing on racial discrimination**: on the eve of the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, held a hearing with the participation of Ms Barbara John, Chair of the organisation *Paritätischer Wohlfahrtsverband* (Germany) and member of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI) and Mr Alexander Verkhovsky, Director, SOVA Center (Russian Federation); approved a declaration on 'Politicians to lead by example in the fight against racial discrimination';
- Council of Europe activities concerning Roma: held an exchange of views with Mr Jeroen Schokkenbroek, Special Representative of the Secretary General for Roma issues; asked its Chairperson to draft a motion on education for Roma children as a tool for empowerment, to be tabled on behalf of the Committee; and decided to ask the Bureau to be seized for opinion on the report on The situation of Roma in Europe: movement and migration (Rapporteur of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons: Ms Groth, Germany, UEL);

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly

Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Special Representative of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe for Organisational Development and Reform

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

- **Meeting of the Committee outside Paris and Strasbourg in 2012**: took note of the invitations from the delegations of Albania and Azerbaijan; following an exchange of views, decided to accept the invitation from the Albanian delegation to hold a meeting of the Committee in Tirana on 4 June 2012, followed by a meeting of the Parliamentary Network women free from violence on 5 June 2012, and asked its Chairperson to ask for the Bureau's authorisation;
- **Muslim women in Europe: for equal opportunities** (Rapporteur: Ms Kyriakidou, Cyprus, SOC): considered a revised memorandum:
- **Gender equality and the reconciliation of family and professional life** (Rapporteur: Ms Quintanilla Barba, Spain, EPP/CD): held an exchange of views on the basis of a statement by the Rapporteur;
- Composition of sub-committees: approved the following changes:
 - Mr Cilevics (Latvia, SOC) to be added as member in the sub-committee on racism and xenophobia;
 - Ms Wurm (Austria, SOC) to be added as member in the sub-committee on gender equality and the sub-committee on racism and xenophobia;
- Appointment of Rapporteurs: appointed:
 - Mr Haugli (Norway, SOC) as General Rapporteur on the rights of LGBTs;
 - Ms Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EDG) as rapporteur for opinion on the Evaluation of the partnership for democracy with the Parliament of Morocco;
 - Ms Bilgehan (Turkey, SOC) as rapporteur for opinion on the Evaluation of the partnership for democracy with the Palestinian National Council,

and heard from them declarations of absence of conflict of interest;

- **Representation of the committee**: appointed Ms Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EDG) to participate in the Round Table on combating trafficking in human beings organised by the Council of Europe, the OSCE and the CIS Inter-Parliamentary Assembly in Saint Petersburg (Russian Federation) on 18 April 2012;
- **Feed-back from members' participation in external events:** heard a statement by Ms Quintanilla Barba on her participation in the 56th session of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) and a number of side events, including a Council of Europe event on violence against women (27 February 2012) and a parliamentary event organised by the Inter-parliamentary Union on Empowering rural women: what role for parliaments (29 February 2012), New York;
- Date and place of the next meetings of the Committee: confirmed its meetings as follows:
 - Strasbourg, during the 2012 2nd part-session of the Assembly (23-27 April);
 - Tirana, 4 June 2012 (subject to the Bureau's authorisation);
 - (Tirana, 5 June 2012, meeting of the Parliamentary Network women free from violence, *subject to the Bureau's authorisation*);
 - Strasbourg, during the 2012 3rd part-session of the Assembly (25-29 June);
 - Paris, 10 September 2012;
 - Strasbourg, during the 2012 4th part-session of the Assembly (1-5 October);
 - Paris, 15 November 2012.

The sub-committee on gender equality, meeting in Paris on 20 March 2012, first with Ms Acketoft (Sweden, ALDE), the oldest member present, and then Ms Saïdi (Belgium, SOC) in the Chair,

as regards:

- **election of the sub-committee's Bureau:** elected Ms Saïdi (Belgium, SOC) as Chairperson and Ms Quintanilla Barba (Spain, EPP/CD) as Vice-Chairperson, by acclamation;
- **next meeting**: left it to its Chairperson to decide the date and place of its next meeting.

The sub-committee on the rights of minorities, meeting in Paris on 20 March 2012, with Ms Acketoft (Sweden, ALDE), the oldest member present, in the Chair,

as regards:

- **election of the sub-committee's Bureau:** in her absence, elected Ms Kovács (Serbia, EPP/CD) as Chairperson and Kyriakidou (Cyprus, SOC) as Vice-Chairperson, by acclamation;
- next meeting: left it to its Chairperson to decide the date and place of its next meeting.

The sub-committee on racism and xenophobia, meeting in Paris on 20 March 2012, with Ms Acketoft (Sweden, ALDE), the oldest member present, and then Ms Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EDG) in the Chair,

as regards:

- **election of the sub-committee's Bureau:** elected Ms Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EDG), by acclamation and decided to postpone the election of the Vice-Chairperson to its next meeting;
- next meeting: left it to its Chairperson to decide the date and place of the next meeting.

Sonia Sirtori, Giorgio Loddo, Elodie Fischer