

SECRETARIAT

**AS/EGA/CB (2015) 03** 24 April 2015

## To the members of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

## Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg from 21 to 23 April 2015

**The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination**, meeting in Strasbourg from 21 to 23 April 2015, with Ms Gülsün Bilgehan (Turkey, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

- on Thursday 21 April 2015, from 8.30 am to 10 am:
- Recognising and preventing neo-racism (Rapporteur: Ms Milena Santerini, Italy, SOC): considered a revised memorandum and held an exchange of views with Mr Jean-Paul Lehners, member of the European Commission against racism and intolerance (ECRI);
- Appointment of General rapporteurs: appointed:
  - Ms Sahiba Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EC) as General rapporteur on violence against women,
  - Mr Jonas Gunnarsson (Sweden, SOC) as General rapporteur on the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people (LGBTs),
  - Ms Milena Santerini (Italy, SOC) as General rapporteur on combating racism and intolerance;
- Appointment of rapporteurs: appointed:
  - Ms Maryvonne Blondin (France, SOC) for report on "Guaranteeing equal rights and protecting women against violence in the armed forces" and heard from her a declaration on the absence of conflict of interest,
  - Ms Béatrice Fresko-Rolfo (Monaco, EPP/CD) for report on "Female genital mutilation in Europe" and heard from her a declaration on the absence of conflict of interest,
- on Wednesday 22 April 2015, from 2 pm to 3.30 pm:
  - **Discrimination against transgender persons in Europe** (Rapporteur: Ms Deborah Schembri, Malta, SOC): took position on the amendments that had been tabled to the draft resolution;
- on Thursday 23 April 2015, from 2 pm to 2.30 pm:
- **Equality and non-discrimination in the access to justice** (Rapporteur: Mr Viorel Riceard Badea, Romania, EPP/CD): took note that no amendment to the draft resolution had been tabled;
- **Systematic collection of data on violence against women** (Rapporteur: Ms Maria Edera Spadoni, Italy, NR): considered an introductory memorandum;

This document is available on the Parliamentary Assembly Extranet website (restricted area for PACE Members) <a href="http://assembly.coe.int/extranet">http://assembly.coe.int/extranet</a>

## AS/EGA/CB (2015) 03

- **Replies from the Committee of Ministers**: took note of the replies of the Committee of Ministers to Recommendation 2053 (2014) on "Women's rights and prospects for Euro-Mediterranean cooperation" and to Recommendation 2052 (2014) on "Counteraction to manifestations of neo-Nazism and right-wing extremism";
- Appointment of representatives: appointed:
  - Mr Piet De Bruyn (Belgium, NR) et Mr Matjaž Hanžek (Slovenia, UEL) to participate in in the IDAHO meeting (International Day against Homophobia, Transphobia & Biophobia), 2015 Forum "Ending hate crime and violence", Budva, Montenegro, 10-12 May 2015 at no cost to the Assembly,
  - Ms Milena Santerini (Italy, SOC), in her capacity as General Rapporteur on combating racism and intolerance, to participate in the High Level Conference "Tolerance Trumps Hate", organised under the Belgian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, Brussels, Belgium, on 8 May 2015;
- Date and place of the next meetings of the committee: confirmed its next meetings as follows:
  - Paris, 1June 2015;
  - Strasbourg, during the 3<sup>rd</sup> Part-Session 2015 of the Assembly (22-26 June);
  - Paris, 10 September 2015;
  - Strasbourg, during the 4<sup>th</sup> Part-Session 2015 of the Assembly (28 September-2 October);
  - Paris, 1 December 2015.
- on Thursday 23 April 2015, from 2.30 pm to 3.30 pm, meeting of the Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence:
- Forced marriages: held a hearing with the participation of:
  - Ms Gabriella Bataini-Dragoni, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe,
  - Ms Lucy Monaghan, Joint Head of the Forced Marriage Unit, Foreign and Commonwealth Office (United Kingdom),
  - Ms Ellen Høvik, Campaign Manager, Plan Norway.

\*\*\*

**The Sub-committee on the rights of minorities**, meeting in Strasbourg on 22 April 2015 from 2.30 to 2.45 pm, with Ms Athina Kyriakidou (Cyprus, SOC), oldest member present, in the Chair, as regards:

- Election of the Bureau of the Sub-Committee: decided to postpone the election to a next meeting;

\*\*\*

**The Sub-committee on gender equality**, meeting in Strasbourg on 22 April 2015 from 2.45 to 3 pm, with Ms Sahiba Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EC), oldest member present, and then Ms Maria Edera Spadoni (Italy, NR) in the Chair as regards:

- **Election of the Bureau of the Sub-committee**: elected by acclamation Ms Maria Edera Spadoni (Italy, NR) Chairperson and decided to postpone the election of the Vice-Chairperson to a next meeting:
- **Date and place of the next meeting**: left it to its Chairperson to decide the date and place of the next meeting.

\*\*\*

**The Sub-committee on disability and inclusion**, meeting in Strasbourg on 22 April 2015 from 3 to 3.30 pm, with Ms Sahiba Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EDG), oldest member present, and then Ms Mechthild Rawert (Germany, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

- **Election of the Bureau of the Sub-committee**: elected by acclamation Ms Mechthild Rawert (Germany, SOC) Chairperson and Ms Béatrice Fresko-Rolfo (Monaco, EPP/CD) Vice-Chairperson;

- Political participation of people with disabilities: held an exchange of views with the participation of Ms Martha Stickings, Research Support Officer, Equality and Citizens' Rights Department, European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights;
- Date and place of the next meeting: left it to its Chairperson to decide the date and place of the next meeting.

Elise Cornu, Sarah Burton, Giorgio Loddo, Géraldine Grenet and Yanna Parnin

Cc.: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

**Director of Communication** 

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe