

SECRETARIAT

**AS/EGA/CB (2015) 04** 3 June 2015

## To the members of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

# Synopsis of the meeting held in Paris on Monday 1 June 2015

**The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination**, meeting in Paris on 1 June 2015, with Ms Carmen Quintanilla (Spain, EPP/CD), First Vice-Chair, in the Chair, as regards:

- **Exchange of views**: held an exchange of views with the participation of:
  - Ms Anne Brasseur, President of the Parliamentary Assembly, and
  - Ms Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe;
- Recognising and preventing neo-racism (Rapporteur: Ms Milena Santerini, Italy, SOC): approved a
  draft report and adopted a draft resolution;
- Guaranteeing equal rights and protecting women against violence in the armed forces (Rapporteur: Ms Maryvonne Blondin, France, SOC): considered an outline for a report and held a hearing with the participation of Ms Françoise Gaudin, Senior administrative officer in equality of rights at the Ministry of Defence, France;
- **Equality and shared parental responsibility: the rights of fathers** (Rapporteur: Ms Françoise Hetto-Gaasch, Luxembourg, EPP/CD): considered a revised memorandum and decided to change the title of the report as follows "Equality and shared responsibility: the role of fathers";
- **Promoting best practices in tackling violence against women** (Rapporteur: Ms Sahiba Gafarova, Azerbaijan, EC): considered an introductory memorandum;
- Assessing the measures to improve women's political representation (Rapporteur: Ms Elena Centemero, Italy, EPP/CD): considered an introductory memorandum;
- Appointment of rapporteurs:
  - appointed Mr Boriss Cilevičs (Latvia, SOC) for report on "Renewed commitment in the fight against anti-Semitism in Europe", subject to hearing from him a statement on the absence of conflict of interest,
  - heard a statement on the absence of conflict of interest from Mr Philip Mißfelder (Germany, EPP/CD), rapporteur on "Promoting Roma inclusion";

- Appointment of representatives: appointed:
  - Ms Gülsün Bilgehan (Turkey, SOC), in her capacity as Chairperson of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, to participate in the 16th meeting of the Committee of the Parties to the Council of Europe Convention on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings and to the Conference marking the 10<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the opening for signature of the Council of Europe Convention on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings, in Strasbourg, on 15 and 16 June 2015:
  - Ms Sahiba Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EC), in her capacity as General Rapporteur on Violence against Women and Political Co-ordinator of the Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence, to participate in the Parliamentary Seminar on the Istanbul Convention organised by the Network in Tbilisi, Georgia, on 16 June 2015;
  - Mr Jonas Gunnarsson (Sweden, SOC), in his capacity as General Rapporteur on the rights of LGBT people, to participate in the International Conference on Gender, Diversity and Social Inclusion organised by the Kaos Gay and Lesbian Cultural Research and Solidarity Association, in Ankara, Turkey, on 5 and 6 November 2015;
- World Forum for Democracy: appointed Ms Milena Santerini (Italy, SOC) as representative in the
  ad hoc committee of the Bureau of the Assembly attending the World Forum for Democracy which will
  take place from 18 to 20 November 2015 in Strasbourg, at no cost to the Assembly, and agreed to
  return to this item at its next meeting;
- Sub-Committees: approved the following changes:
  - Sub-Committee on Gender equality: Ms Eleni Rapti (Greece, EPP/CD) became full member and Mr Nikolaos Nikolopoulos (Greece, EC) alternate,
  - Sub-Committee on Disability and Inclusion: Mr Nikolaos Nikolopoulos (Greece, EC) became full member and Ms Eleni Rapti (Greece, EPP/CD) alternate and Ms Elena Centemero (Italy, EPP/CD) withdrew as full member,
  - Sub-Committee on the rights of minorities: Mr Philipp Mißfelder (Germany, EPP/CD) became alternate, Ms Theodora Tzakri (Greece, UEL) became full member and Ms Vasiliki Katrivanou (Greece, UEL) alternate and Mr Gábor Harangozó (Hungary, SOC) became full member;
- **Reporting back:** heard a statement from Mr Piet de Bruyn (Belgium, NR) on his participation in the IDAHO meeting (International Day against Homophobia, Transphobia & Biophobia), Forum 2015 on « Ending hate crime and violence », held in Budva, Montenegro, from 10 to 12 May 2015;
- Date and place of the next meetings: confirmed its next meetings as follows:

### Plenary meetings

- Strasbourg, during the 3rd part-session 2015 of the Assembly (22 26 June);
- Paris, 10 September 2015;
- Strasbourg, during the 4th part-session 2015 of the Assembly (28 September 2 October);
- Paris, 1 December 2015.

#### Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence

- Strasbourg, during the 3rd part-session 2015 of the Assembly (22 26 June);
- Strasbourg, during the 4th part-session 2015 of the Assembly (28 September 2 October).

#### No Hate Parliamentary Alliance

Strasbourg, during the 3rd part-session 2015 of the Assembly (22 - 26 June).

Elise Cornu, Sarah Burton and Giorgio Loddo

cc.: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

**Director of Communication** 

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe