

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire







SECRETARIAT

21 December 2009 Synopsis AS/Jur No 2009/09

## To the Members of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights

**Synopsis** of the meeting held in Paris on 16 December 2009

The Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights, meeting in Paris on 16 December 2009 with Mrs Herta Däubler-Gmelin (Germany, SOC), in the Chair, as regards:

- *Minority protection in Europe: best practices and deficiencies in implementation of common standards* (*Rapporteur: Mr Boriss Cilevičs, Latvia, SOC*): considered and adopted a draft recommendation;
- Appointment of rapporteurs:
  - The definition of political prisoners: Mr Christoph Strässer (Germany, SOC)
  - Drafting an additional protocol to the European Convention for Human Rights: basic standards for national minorities: Mr György Frunda (Romania, EPP/CD)
- 4<sup>th</sup> World Congress against the Death Penalty (Geneva, 24-26 February 2010): set up an ad hoc sub-committee to take part in the Congress, composed of the following members: Mr Andreas Gross (Switzerland, SOC), Mr Serhiy Holovaty (Ukraine, ALDE), Mr Michel Hunault (France, EDG), Mr Franz Eduard Kühnel (Austria, EPP/CD), Mr Tuğrul Türkes (Turkey, EDG), Mrs Özlem Türköne (Turkey, EPP/CD) and Mrs Renate Wohlwend (Liechtenstein, EPP/CD) (subject to the authorisation of the Bureau);
- The situation of Roma in Europe and relevant activities of the Council of Europe (Rapporteur: Mr József Berényi, Slovak Republic, EPP/CD): considered an introductory memorandum;
- **Participation of members in conferences, meetings, seminars, etc:** heard reports by the following representatives:
  - Group of States against Corruption (GRECO) (Strasbourg, 30 November 4 December 2009): Mr Kimmo Sasi (Finland, EPP/CD)
  - European Commission for Democracy through Law ("Venice Commission") (Venice, 11-12 December 2009): Mr Serhiy Holovaty (Ukraine, ALDE)
- **The follow up to the issue of political prisoners in Azerbaijan** (Rapporteur: Mr Christoph Strässer, Germany, SOC): authorised the rapporteur to carry out a fact-finding visit to Azerbaijan in 2010;

## The future of the Strasbourg Court and reinforcement of ECHR standards: a contribution to *Interlaken:* held a hearing with the participation of the following experts:

- Mrs Deniz Akcay, Chairperson of Council of Europe Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH)
- Mr Mark Entin, Professor and Director of the Institute of European Law at the Moscow State • Institute of International Relations
- Mr Erik Fribergh, Registrar, European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)
- Mr Pierre-Henri Imbert, former Director General of Human Rights at the Council of Europe (Strasbourg)
- Mr Rick Lawson, Professor of Human Rights at the University of Leiden (Netherlands)
- Mr Philip Leach, Solicitor, Director of the European Human Rights Advocacy Centre (London)
- Mr Jens Mayer-Ladewig, former German Government Agent before the European Court of Human Rights
- Mr Andrzej Rzeplinski, Judge on the Polish Constitutional Court
- Mr Paul Widmer, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the Council of Europe (Strasbourg)
- Mr Iurii Zaitsev, Ukrainian Government Agent before the European Court of Human Rights, former Chair of the Ukrainian Legal Foundation

and instructed its Chairperson to prepare written conclusions of the hearing;

## Next meetings:

- Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 1<sup>st</sup> part-session of 2010 (25-29 January 2010) Paris, Tuesday 16 March 2010 at 9 h (Council of Europe Office)
- Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 2<sup>nd</sup> part-session of 2010 (26-30 April 2010)

Andrew Drzemczewski, Günter Schirmer, Agnieszka Szklanna, Isild Heurtin

Secretary General and secretariat of the Assembly cc: Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Observers to the Assembly Secretary General of the Congress **Directors** General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe