

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire

http://assembly.coe.int





SECRETARIAT

27 March 2009 Synopsis AS/Jur No 2009/02

## To the Members of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights

Synopsis of the meeting held in Berlin (Germany) on 23-24 March 2009

The Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights, meeting in Berlin

- on 23 March 2009, with Mrs Herta Däubler-Gmelin (Germany, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:
- **The state of human rights in Europe: The need to eradicate impunity:** organised a conference on this subject with the participation of the following speakers:
  - Mr Juan Méndez, President, International Center for Transitional Justice (New York)
  - Ms Françoise Hampson, Professor of Law, University of Essex, former member of the UN Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights (United Kingdom)
  - Mr Vincent Berger, Jurisconsult, Registry of the European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)
  - Ms Tanya Lokshina, Deputy Director of Human Rights Watch's Russia Office (Moscow)
  - Ms Monica Macovei, former Minister of Justice of Romania, United Kingdom anti-corruption Adviser to the Prime Minister of "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" (Skopje)
  - Mr Mark Livschitz, Lawyer, anti-corruption issues, Baker & McKenzie (Zürich)
  - Ms Beate Rudolf, Professor at the Free University of Berlin, Vice-President of the European Women Lawyers Association (EWLA)
  - Mr Symeon Karagiannis Professor of Law at Strasbourg University
  - Ms Nuala Mole, Director of the AIRE Centre (Advice on Individual Rights in Europe) (London)
  - Mr Luis Moreno-Ocampo, Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court (The Hague)
- on 24 March 2009, with Mrs Herta Däubler-Gmelin (Germany, SOC), in the Chair, as regards:
- Exchange of views with members of the German Bundestag's Committee on Human Rights and Humanitarian Aid: held an exchange of views on the activities of this Committee;
- **Protection of human rights in emergency situations** (Rapporteur: Mr Holger Haibach, Germany, EPP/CD): considered and approved a draft report and adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation, with a view to presenting them at the Assembly's April 2009 part-session;

- Freedom of religion and other human rights for non-Muslim minorities in Turkey and for the Muslim minority in Thrace (Eastern Greece) (Rapporteur: Mr Michel Hunault, France, EDG): considered and approved a draft report and adopted a draft resolution, with a view to presenting them at a forthcoming Assembly part-session;
- The implementation of Resolution 1633 (2008) on the consequences of the war between Georgia and Russia: heard a statement by the former rapporteur for opinion, Mr Christos Pourgourides, (Cyprus, EPP/CD);
- Non-entry into force of Protocol No 14 to the European Convention on Human Rights: heard a
  statement by the Chairperson, held an exchange of views and asked the secretariat to prepare an
  information note on the state of work of the Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH) on this
  issue, for consideration at its next meeting;
- **The situation of Roma in Europe and relevant activities of the Council of Europe** (*Rapporteur: Mr József Berényi, Slovak Republic, EPP/CD*): heard a statement by the Rapporteur on his fact-finding visit to the Czech Republic on 17-18 March 2009;

## Appointment of rapporteurs:

- The world financial crisis: the economic collapse of Iceland: Mr Kimmo Sasi, Finland, EPP/CD
- The follow-up to the issue of political prisoners in Azerbaijan: Mr Christoph Strässer, Germany, SOC
- The European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages: Mr József Berényi, Slovak Republic, EPP/CD
- The need for international condemnation of Holodomor in Ukraine in 1932-1933 / 75th anniversary of mass famine in the territory of the former USSR (for opinion): Mr Paul Rowen, United Kingdom, ALDE
- Drafting an additional protocol to the Convention on Human Rights, concerning the right to a healthy environment (for opinion): Mr Christopher Chope, United Kingdom, EDG
- **Appointment of representatives of the Committee:** decided to propose to the Bureau the following change concerning the appointments for 2009: European Commission for Democracy through Law ("Venice Commission"): Mr Serhiy Holovaty (Ukraine, ALDE), alternate;
- **Discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity** (*Rapporteur: Mr Andreas Gross, Switzerland, SOC*): decided to modify the title of the report (as indicated above) and held a hearing with the participation of the following experts:
  - Mr Hans Ytterberg, Director General, Ministry for Integration and Gender Equality, Chairperson of the Council of Europe (intergovernmental) Committee of Experts on Discrimination on Grounds of Sexual Orientation and Gender identity (DH-LGBT), former Swedish Ombudsperson against discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation
  - Ms Julia Ehrt, TransGender Europe (TGEU, Berlin)
  - Professor Igor Kon, Chief Researcher, Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology, Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow)
  - Mr Ioannis Dimitrakopoulos, Head of Department Equality and Citizen's Rights, European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights
  - Mr Dennis van der Veur, Adviser, Office of the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights
- *The situation of human rights defenders in Council of Europe member states* (*Rapporteur: Mr Holger Haibach, Germany, EPP/CD*): decided to propose to the President of the Assembly to invite Mrs Karinna Moskalenko to the debate on this report at the Assembly's April 2009 part-session;

## • Next meetings:

## Plenary Committee:

- Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 2nd part-session of 2009 (27-30 April)
- Romania (Târgu Mureş), Monday 18 and Tuesday 19 (morning) May 2009
- Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 3rd part-session of 2009 (22-26 June)
- Paris, September 2009 (Council of Europe Office) (date to be determined)

Sub-Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights:

• Strasbourg, Sunday 26 April 2009 (afternoon)

Andrew Drzemczewski, Günter Schirmer, Catherine Maffucci-Hugel, Isild Heurtin

cc: Secretary General and secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Observers to the Assembly Secretary General of the Congress Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe