

TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON MIGRATION, REFUGEES AND POPULATION

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Synopsis AS/MIG/2007/CB/08

17 December 2007

The Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, meeting in Paris, on 14 December 2007, with Mr Henderson (United Kingdom, SOC) in the chair,

As regards:

- **Exchange of views with Mr Yevhen Perelygin:** held an exchange of views with Mr Perelygin, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Ukraine to the Council of Europe, Chairperson of the Rapporteurs' Group on Social and Health Questions and decided to strengthen cooperation between the Rapporteurs' Group and the Committee;

- **Unexpected large scale arrival of migrants and asylum seekers in Europe** (Rapporteur: *Mr Østergaard, Denmark, ALDE*): heard a statement by the Rapporteur on his visits to Lampedusa (Italy) on 3-4 September 2007 and to Malta on 15-16 October 2007 and held exchange of views with Ms Basak Kale (University of Oxford, United Kingdom) and Mr Panagiotis Papadimitriou (Greek Council for Refugees, Greece);

– **Detention of asylum seekers and irregular migrants in Europe** (Rapporteur: Mrs Mendonça, Portugal, SOC):

▶ organised a hearing, with the participation of:

- Mrs Hélène FLAUTRE, France, European Green Party, Chair of the European Parliament's Subcommittee on Human Rights
- Mr Philip AMARAL, Policy and Advocacy Officer, Jesuit Refugee Service Europe
- Ms Katrine CAMILLERI, International Detention Coalition
- Ms Alice EDWARDS, Lecturer in British Human Rights Law, University of Nottingham
- Mr Laurent GIOVANNONI, Secretary General of the CIMADE
- Mr Fabrice KELLENS, Deputy Executive Secretary of the European Committee for the Prevention of Torture (CPT)
- Ms Hélène LAMBERT, Reader in Law, University of Westminster

► authorised the Rapporteur to visit the detention centre of Geispolsheim (France) in the context of the preparation of her report, subject to the availability of funds;

— Migration and mobility in the Eurasian region – prospects for the future (Rapporteur: Mr Iwiński (Poland, SOC): held an exchange of views, with the participation of Mr. Alexey Gubanov, Assistant to the Director of the Migration Services of the Russian Federation;

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General in the Secretariat of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of Communication and Research Secretary of the Committee of Ministers Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

- Representation of the Committee at various events:
 - Meeting on "Mass arrivals in the entry points of Greece problems and perspectives", organised by the Hellenic Red Cross (Athens, 17-18 December 2007): appointed Mr Østergaard (Denmark, ALDE), at no cost to the Assembly;
 - Meeting on the situation of irregular migrants, organised by CIMADE and CASAS (Strasbourg, 17 January 2008): appointed Mrs Mendonça (Portugal, SOC), subject to the availability of funds;

- **Next meetings:** decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

Plenary Committee:

- Strasbourg, during the 1st part of the Session 2008 (21-25 January 2008)
- Brussels, 6-7 March 2008 (to be confirmed and subject to authorisation by the Bureau)

Sub-Committee on Migration:

- Strasbourg, during the 1st part of the Session 2008 (21-25 January 2008)
- St Petersbourg, 3-4 April 2008 participation in the Joint Conference of the CIS Inter-Parliamentary Assembly and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe on Migration (to be confirmed and subject to authorisation by the Bureau)

Sub-Committee on Refugees:

- Strasbourg, during the 1st part of the Session 2008 (21-25 January 2008)
- Rome, May 2008 (to be confirmed and subject to authorisation by the Bureau)

Sub-Committee on Population:

Strasbourg, during the 1st part of the Session 2008 (21-25 January 2008)

Halvor Lervik, Mark Neville, Dana Karanjac, Olga Kostenko