Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON MIGRATION, REFUGEES AND POPULATION

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Synopsis AD/HOC (2008) 01

28 April 2008

The Ad Hoc Sub-Committee to take part in the Euro-Mediterranean encounters of Tanger 2008 on Migration, Co-development and intercultural dialogue (of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population), meeting in Tanger, Morocco, on 25 and 26 April 2008, with Mrs Fiala (Switzerland, ALDE) in the Chair:

As regards:

- Election of the Chair: elected Mrs Doris Fiala (Switzerland, ALDE) as Chair of the ad hoc Sub-Committee.
- Euro-Mediterranean Encounters of Tangier 2008: took part in the colloquy, jointly organised by the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe and the Association Espace Alternatif (Morocco) with the participation of:
 - Mr Sergio Piazzi, Secretary General of the Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly
 - Mrs Alima Boumediene Thiery, Senator (France), former member of the European Parliament
 - Mr Jacques Huntzinger, Ambassador at large in charge of the Union for the Mediterranean project, France
 - Mr Ian Micalef, Councillor, Gzeira local Council (Malta) and President of the Chamber of Local Authorities, Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe
 - Mr Abdelkebir Berkia, President of the Region Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zael
 - Mr Mohamed Kharchich, Deputy Mayor of Tanger
 - Mr Mouloud Med-Meziani, Secretary General of the Algerian Forum for Citizenship and Modernity
 - o Mr Hasni Abidi, Director of the CERMAM, Research Centre on the Arab World
 - Mr Franck Debié, Director General of the Foundation for political innovation and Professor at the Ecole Normale Supérieure (Paris)

Ivi-Triin Odrats

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
Director General in the Secretariat of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of Communication and Research
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe