## Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



## TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON MIGRATION, REFUGEES AND POPULATION

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Synopsis AS/MIG/MIGR (2008) CB 02

7 April 2008

The Sub-Committee on Migration of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, meeting in Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation, on 3 and 4 April 2008, with Mr ÇAVUŞOĞLU, Chairman of the Sub Committee on Migration (Turkey, EDG) and Mrs JONKER, Chairperson of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population (the Netherlands, EPP/CD) in the Chair:

## As regards:

- Joint meeting with the Permanent Commission on Social Policy and Human Rights of the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly of the Commonwealth of Independent States (IPA CIS): held an exchange of views on:
- the respective activities of the two Committees;
- the IPA CIS draft model law on activity of private employment agencies and PACE Resolution 1534 (2007) on *The situation of migrant workers in temporary employment agencies (TEAs)*;
- the PACE report on *Migration and mobility in the Eurasian region: perspectives for the future* (Rapporteur: Mr Iwiński, Poland, SOC);
- the draft declaration of the Conference;
- the preparation of the IPA CIS Conference on Humanitarian Law with the participation of the ICRC, November 2008;
- socio-cultural activities in the Member States of the CIS and on the Council of Europe's activities on bioethics;
- > Joint International parliamentary conference on "Globalisation of Migration Processes : Problems of Legal Regulation":
  - heard the statements of :
    - M. Abdelhadi ALMAJALI, Speaker of the House of Representatives of the Jordan Hashemite Kingdom, former President of the Arab Inter-Parliamentary Union
    - Mr Dendev BADARCH, Director of the UNESCO Office in Moscow on the Azerbaijan Republic, Republic of Armenia, Republic of Belarus, Republic of Moldova and Russian Federation
    - Mr Andrei DENISOV, First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
    - Mr Vadim GUSTOV, Chairman of the Committee of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on Affairs of the Commonwealth of Independent States
    - Mr Brunson McKINLEY, Director General of the International Organisation for Migration
    - Mr Gennadiy NOVITSKIY, Chairman of the Council of Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
Director General in the Secretariat of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of Communication and Research
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

- Mr Konstantin ROMODANOVSKIY, Chairman of the Council of Heads of Migration Bodies of the CIS Member Nations, Director of the Federal Migration Service of the Russian Federation
- Mr Aygul RYSKULOVA, Chairman of the State Committee for Migration and Employment of the Kyrghyz Republic
- Mr Vladimir SHCHERBAKOV, Secretary General of the Universal Trade Union Confederation:
- Mr Mahmadsaid UBAIDULLOEV, Chairman of the Interparliamentary Assembly of the Eurasian Economic Community, Chairman of the Majilisi Milli of the Majilisi Oli of the Republic of Tajikistan
- M. Ramil USUBOV, Chairman of the CIS Council of Ministers of Interior Affairs, Minister of Interior Affairs of the Azerbaijan Republic
- Co-chaired the Round Tables 1 and 4 (Mr Tadeusz IWIŃSKI) on "Legislative regulation of migration processes – international law and national legislation" and "Counteracting illegal migration and perfection of migration legislation"
- Co-chaired the Round Table 2 (Mrs Corien JONKER) on "Integration of migrants and their families: intercultural dialogue and social interaction"
- Co-chaired the Round Table 3 (Mr Mevlüt ÇAVUŞOĞLU) on "Protection of rights of migrants"
- Adopted a joint Declaration
- Date and place of the next meeting: left it to the Chair to decide on the date and the place of the next meeting.

Halvor Lervik, Dana Karanjac