Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON MIGRATION, REFUGEES AND POPULATION

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Synopsis AS/MIG/MIGR (2008) CB 04

8 September 2008

The Sub-Committee on Migration of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, meeting in Kyiv, Ukraine, on 4 and 5 September 2008, with Mr ÇAVUŞOĞLU, Chairman of the Sub Committee on Migration (Turkey, EDG) and Mrs JONKER, Chairperson of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population (Netherlands, EPP/CD) in the Chair:

As regards:

- 8thCouncil of Europe Conference of Ministers responsible for Migration Affairs: "Economic migration, social cohesion and development: towards an integrated approach": participated at the conference;
- European Parliamentary Forum on economic migration, social cohesion and development (organised in cooperation with the European Parliament and the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine):
 - heard the statements of :
 - Mr Yurii HNATKEVYCH, Member of the Committee on Human Rights, National Minorities and International Relations of the Verkhovna Rada, Ukraine
 - Mr Hryhoriy NEMYRIA, Deputy Prime Minister, Chairman of the Ministerial Conference, Ukraine
 - Mrs Nebahat ALBAYRAK, State Secretary of Justice, Netherlands
 - Mr Gérard DEPREZ, Member of the European Parliament, Chair of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs of the European Parliament, Belgium
 - Mr Vitlyi MARMAZOV, Deputy Minister of the Interior, Ukraine
 - Mrs Oksana BILOZIR, Member of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population (Ukraine, EPP)
 - Mr Yavuz MILDON, President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe (Turkey, EPP)
 - Mrs Corien JONKER, Chair of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, EPP, Netherlands
 - Mr Igor POPESCU, Chairman of the Ukrainian Delegation to PACE
 - held an exchange of views on Ukrainian migration policies;
 - held an exchange of views on the Final Declaration of the 8th Council of Europe Conference of Ministers responsible for Migration Affairs;
- Date and place of the next meeting: left it to the Chair to decide on the date and the place of the next meeting.

Halvor Lervik, Ivi-Triin Odrats

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General in the Secretariat of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of Communication and Research Secretary of the Committee of Ministers Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

http://assembly.coe.int