

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire



http://assembly.coe.int

#### SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

## TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON MIGRATION, REFUGEES AND POPULATION

Synopsis AS/MIG/2009/CB/05

25 June 2009

The Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, meeting in Strasbourg, on 23, 24 and 25 June 2009,

• ON 23 JUNE 2009, AT 2.00 PM, with Mrs Jonker (Netherlands, EPP/CD) in the chair, as regards:

- **Solving property issues of refugees and displaced persons** (*Rapporteur: Mr Poulsen, Denmark, ALDE*): heard a statement by the Rapporteur on his visit to Bosnia and Herzegovina, on 8-10 June 2009 and held an exchange of views with Mr Rhodri WILLIAMS, invited expert;

- Working migration and diasporas: individual rights and governmental responsibilities (Rapporteur: Mrs Bilozir, Ukraine, EPP/CD): considered a memorandum, decided to modify the title of the report as follows: Engaging European diasporas: the need for governmental and intergovernmental responses, and held an exchange of views with Ms Jaroslava HARTYANYI (1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chair of the Ukrainian World Congress and Chair of the Congress of Ukrainians in Europe) and Ms Meera SETHI (Senior Regional Advisor, IOM, Geneva);

• ON 24 JUNE 2009, AT 2.00 PM, with Mrs Jonker (Netherlands, EPP/CD) in the chair, as regards:

- **Europe's forgotten people: protecting the human rights of long-term displaced persons** (*Rapporteur: Mr Greenway, United Kingdom, EDG*): took position on the amendments tabled to the draft recommendation;

- *held an exchange of views with Mr Walter KÄLIN,* Special Representative of the United Nations Secretary-General on the human rights of internally displaced persons;

- The humanitarian consequences of the war between Georgia and Russia: implementation of **Resolutions 1648 (2009) and 1664 (2009):** appointed Mrs Jonker (Netherlands, EPP/CD) Rapporteur, held an exchange of views and authorised her to take part in a meeting of the Ministers Deputies on 9 September 2009 to present the work of the Committee on this item;

- Work programme: decided to request its Chair to ask the Bureau to be seized for an opinion on the following report: The consequences of the war between Georgia and Russia: implementation of resolutions 1633 (2009) and 1647 (2009) (Reporting Committee: Monitoring Committee);

• ON 25 JUNE 2009, AT 2.00 PM, with Mr Agramunt (Spain, EPP/CD) in the chair, as regards:

- Improving the quality and consistency of asylum decisions in the Council of Europe Member States (Rapporteur: Mr Cilevičs, Latvia, SOC): approved a draft report, and adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation;

– **International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC):** heard a statement by Mr Symeon ANTOULAS, Diplomatic Advisor, ICRC, Geneva, on the 60<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Geneva Conventions of 1949 and the importance of international humanitarian law and held an exchange of views;

cc: Secretary General and secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Observers to the Assembly Secretary General of the Congress Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

# – Sub-Committees:

- Sub-Committee on Migration: appointed:;
  - Mr Lydeka (Lithuania, ALDE) as member, in replacement of Mrs Banović who resigned;
  - Mr van der Bellen (Austria, NR) as Mr Kühnel's alternate;
- Sub-Committee on Refugees:
  - Mr Diaz Tejera (Spain, SOC) as member, in replacement of Mrs Banović who resigned;
  - Mr Georgiou (Cyprus, UEL) as member, in replacement of Mr Kyprianou who resigned;
  - Mr van der Bellen (Austria, NR) as Mrs Wurm's alternate;
- Sub-Committee on Population:
  - appointed Mr Georgiou (Cyprus, UEL) as member, in replacement of Mr Kyprianou who resigned;
  - appointed Mr Lindblad (Sweden, EPP/CD) as member,
  - took note of Mr van der Bellen's resignation;

## – Work programme:

## a. Appointment of a rapporteur:

#### References for one report:

The interception and rescue at sea of asylum seekers, refugees and irregular migrants and Dismantling fortress Europe – actively protecting the lives of refugees in the Mediterranean Sea: appointed Mr Diaz Tejera (Spain, SOC);

## b. Representation of the Committee at various events

- Meeting on "Active participation as a tool for social inclusion", organised by the European Youth Centre (Strasbourg, 26 June 2009): appointed Mrs Fiala (Switzerland, ALDE) (at no cost to the Assembly);
- Ad Hoc Committee of the Bureau to take part in the Forum on early warning in conflict prevention (Strasbourg, 24-25 September 2009): appointed Lord Anderson (United Kingdom, SOC), Mrs Curtis-Thomas (United Kingdom, SOC), Mr Diaz Tejera (Spain, SOC), Mr Etherington (United Kingdom, SOC), Mr Hancock (United Kingdom, ALDE), Mrs Jonker (Netherlands, EPP/CD) and Mr Omelchenko (Ukraine, EPP/CD) (at no cost to the Assembly);
- Meeting of the Bureau of the CDMG (Strasbourg, 29 September 2009) *to be confirmed*: asked interested members to inform the secretariat of the Committee (at no cost to the Assembly);

- Replies from the Committee of Ministers to texts adopted by the Assembly presented by the Committee: took note of the replies to the following Recommendations:

- Recommendation 1797 (2007) on *Missing persons in Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia from the conflicts over the Nagorno-Karabakh, Abkhazia and South Ossetia regions;*
- Recommendation 1840 (2008) on The state of democracy in Europe Measures to improve the democratic participation of migrants;
- Recommendation 1842 (2008) on the Activities of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC);
- Recommendation 1852 (2008) on *Migration and mobility in the Eurasian region Prospects for the future;*
- Next meetings: decided to hold its next meetings as follows

## Plenary Committee

- Strasbourg, during the 4<sup>th</sup> part of the session 2009 (28 September-2 October 2009)
- Brussels, 2-3 November 2009 (to be confirmed and subject to authorisation by the Bureau)
- > Paris, 9-10 December 2009 (to be confirmed)

Mark Neville, Ivi Odrats, Carl Ekström, Catherine Meredith