





http://assembly.coe.int

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON MIGRATION, REFUGEES AND POPULATION

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Synopsis AS/MIG/MIGR (2009) CB 02

17 November 2009

The Sub-Committee on Migration of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, meeting in Antalya, Turkey, on 12 and 13 November 2009, with Mr ÇAVUŞOĞLU, Chairman of the Sub Committee (Turkey, EDG) and Mrs ACKETOFT, Vice-Chair (Sweden, ALDE) in the Chair:

As regards:

- Forum on "Remain, migrate or return: what to do in a global recession":
 - heard presentations by and held an exchange of views with:
 - Mr Alâaddin YÜKSEL, Governor of Antalya, Turkey
 - Mr Berlan Pars ALAN, Head of Department for Migration, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Turkey
 - Mrs Aylan ARI, Professor, Koc University, Turkey
 - Mr Olivier BEER, Representative, Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Representation to the European Institutions in Strasbourg
 - Mr Joël Le BILLAN, Board Member, Churches' Commission for Migrants in Europe
 - Mr Maurizio BUSATTI, Chief of mission, IOM, Turkish Office
 - Mr Jean-Christophe DUMONT, Expert on International Migration, OECD
 - Mr Sedat KAYHAN, Director of Human Resources, Hotel Mardan Palace, Antalya, Turkey
 - Mr Mehmet Ali KÜÇÜKÇAVUŞ, Director of the Asylum and Migration Bureau, Ministry of Interior of Turkey
 - Mrs Christiane KUPTSCH, Senior Specialist in Migration Policy, ILO
 - Mr Frank LACZKO, Head of the Research and Publications Division, IOM
 - Mrs Alwiye XUSEYN, Executive member, Akina Dada wa Africa (AkiDwa), Ireland and European Network of Migrant women, Ireland;
- Roundtable on "The continuous challenge of migration in Europe":
 - Held an exchange of views with students of the University of Akdeniz, Antalya, Turkey;
- Date and place of the next meeting: decided to hold its next meeting in Strasbourg, during the 1st part-session 2010 (25-29 January 2010).

Ivi-Triin Odrats

cc: Secretary General and secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Observers to the Assembly
Secretary General of the Congress
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Director of Communication
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe