





SECRETARIAT

AS/Mig (2013) CB 03 26 April 2013

## To the members of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 22, 23, 24 and 25 April 2013

**The Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons**, meeting in Strasbourg, with Mr Giacomo Santini (Italy, EPP/CD) in the Chair,

- on Monday 22 April 2013 at 2 p.m., as regards:
- Violence against religious communities (Rapporteur for opinion: Mr Tuğrul Türkeş, Turkey, EDG): approved a draft opinion;
- Syria and other related issues: held an exchange of views with Mr Vincent Cochetel, Director, UNHCR Bureau for Europe;
- on Tuesday 23 April 2013 at 8.30 a.m., as regards:
- Interparliamentary Conference: considered how to follow-up the conference held in Rabat, Morocco on 4-5 April 2013;
- Exchange of views with Ms Snezana Samardzic Markovic, Director General, Directorate General of Democracy: held an exchange of views on priorities relating to migration;
- Migrants and refugees and the fight against AIDS (Rapporteur: Ms Doris Fiala, Switzerland, ALDE): held an exchange of views with the participation of:
  - Mr Olivier Maguet, Consultant Social Action, Expert Community Action, *Médecins du monde*;
  - Ms Helena Nygren-Krug, Senior Adviser Human Rights & Law, UNAIDS;
- Missing persons from Europe's conflicts: the long road to finding humanitarian answers (Rapporteur: Mr Jim Sheridan, United Kingdom, SOC): considered a revised draft memorandum, and decided to ask the Bureau to extend the mandate until 31 October 2013;
- on Wednesday 24 April 2013 at 2 p.m., as regards:
- Joint hearing with the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination: held a joint hearing on "Prostitution and Trafficking", organised by the Parliamentary network on "women free from violence";

- on Thursday 25 April 2013 at 8.30 a.m., as regards:
- **FRONTEX: human rights responsibilities** (Rapporteur: Mr Mikael Cederbratt, Sweden, EPP/CD): took position on the amendments tabled to the draft resolution and the draft recommendation;
- Management of mixed migration and asylum challenges beyond the European Union's Eastern border (Rapporteur: Mr Andrea Rigoni, Italy, ALDE): took position on the amendment tabled to the draft resolution;
- Integration of migrants: is Europe failing? (Rapporteur: Ms Pelin Gündeş Bakir, Turkey, EDG): considered a draft memorandum;
- **The arrival of mixed migratory flows to Italian coastal areas** (Rapporteur: Mr Christopher Chope, United Kingdom, EDG): considered an information memorandum;
- **The right to work for refugees** (Rapporteur: Mr Christopher Chope, United Kingdom, EDG): considered an outline for a report;
- Resettlement of refugees: an efficient tool for greater solidarity in Europe (Rapporteur: Mr Eric Voruz, Switzerland, SOC): held an exchange of views;
- Conference on Integration, 16-17 December 2013 (tbc): held an exchange of views on the draft programme;
- Sub-Committee on Detention: heard a follow-up to the meeting held on Tuesday, 23 April 2013, and approved the publication of the Guide for Parliamentarians on visiting places of detention where irregular migrants and asylum seekers are held;
- **Composition of the Sub-Committees**: approved the following changes:

Sub-Committee on Detention

- Dame Angela Watkinson (United Kingdom, EDG) to become a titular member
- Mr Jim Hood (United Kingdom, SOC) to become an alternate member

Sub-Committee on Integration

- Mr Jim Sheridan (United Kingdom, SOC) to become a titular member
- Mr David Crausby (United Kingdom, SOC) to become an alternate member

Sub-Committee on Co-operation with non-European countries of origin and transit

- Mr Malik Azmani (Netherlands, ALDE) to become a titular member
- Mr Michiel Servaes (Netherlands, SOC) to become an alternate member
- Mr David Crausby (United Kingdom, SOC) to become a titular member
- Baroness Judith Wilcox (United Kingdom, EDG) to become an alternate member
- **Election of the Third Vice-Chairperson**: elected Ms Anette Hübinger (Germany, EPP/CD) by acclamation as Third Vice-Chairperson;
- Appointment of Rapporteurs: appointed the following Rapporteurs and heard a declaration of absence of conflict of interest from them:
  - Immigration detention of children: Mr Peter van Dijk (Netherlands, NR);
  - Greece under pressure: Europe's front door for irregular migration: Ms Tina Acketoft (Sweden,ALDE);
- Representation of the Committee: appointed Ms Katherine Zappone (Ireland, NR) to represent the Committee at the Global Diaspora Forum, Dún Laoghaire, Dublin on 14-15 May 2013, at no cost to the Assembly;
- Other business: decided to ask the Bureau to extend the mandate for the report "Integration tests for migrants: a step forward or back?" (Rapporteur: Ms Tineke Strik, Netherlands, SOC) until 31 December 2013

## Next meetings:

- Paris, 4 June 2013
- **Strasbourg**, during the 3<sup>rd</sup> part-session 2013 (24-28 June)
- Paris, 10 September 2013 (tbc)
- **Strasbourg**, during the 4<sup>th</sup> part-session 2013 (30 September 4 October)
- Paris, 19-20 November 2013 (tbc)
- **Paris**, 16-17 December 2013, Conference on Integration (tbc)

\*\*\*

The **Sub-Committee on Detention**, meeting in Strasbourg on 23 April 2013, with Mr Mikael Cederbratt (Sweden, EPP/CD) in the Chair, as regards:

- Guide for Parliamentarians on visiting places of detention where irregular migrants and asylum seekers are held: considered and approved the guide;
- Next training visit for Parliamentarians on how to carry out visits to places of detention: heard a statement by the Chair on the next training which will take place on 16 and 17 October 2013 in Zurich;
- Next meeting: left it to its Chairperson to convene the next meeting;

Mark Neville, Agnès Nollinger, Olga Kostenko, Isild Heurtin

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe