

SECRETARIAT

AS/Mig/NM (2014) CB 01 29 October 2014

To the members of the Sub-Committee on Co-operation with non-European countries of origin and transit

of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

Synopsis of the meeting held in Rabat (Morocco) on 23 and 24 October 2014

The Sub-Committee on Co-operation with non-European countries of origin and transit, meeting in Rabat (Morocco), with Mr António Braga (Portugal, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

- Seminar on "the new migration policy of Morocco and European experience: new challenges in the integration policies and practices": held a Seminar with the involvement of the following participants:
 - Mr António Braga (Portugal, SOC), Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on cooperation with non-European countries of origin and transit
 - Mr Rachid Talbi Alami, Chair of the Chamber of Representatives of the Parliament of Morocco
 - **Mr Mohamed Yatim**, Vice-Chair of the Chamber of representatives of the Parliament of Morocco, Head of the Moroccan partner for democracy delegation to the PACE
 - Mr Rupert Joy, EU Ambassador to Morocco
 - Mr Ahmed Skim, representative of the Ministry of Moroccans abroad and Migration
 - Mr Christos Christodoulides, representative of the International Organization for Migration (IOM), Morocco
 - **Ms Lilja Gretarsdottir**, Senior advisor on migration, Directorate of Human Rights, Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law, Council of Europe
 - Mr Andrea Rigoni (Italy, ALDE), Vice—Chair of the Sub-Committee on cooperation with non-European countries of origin and transit
 - Panel composed of representatives of relevant Committees from Mediterranean Countries:
 - ✓ Ms Stella Misiaouli-Demetriou (Cyprus)
 - ✓ Mr Kyriakos Hadjiyianni (Cyprus)
 - ✓ Mr Christos Kellas (Greece)
 - ✓ Mr Manlio Di Stefano (Italy)
 - ✓ Ms Elena Centemero (Italy)
 - ✓ Ms Deborah Schembri (Malta)
 - ✓ Ms Claudette Buttigieg (Malta)
 - ✓ Mr Paulo Simões Ribeiro (Portugal)
 - Mr Driss El Yazami, Chair of the National Council of Human Rights
 - Ms Rosário Farmhouse, Former High Commissioner for Immigration and Intercultural Dialogue of Portugal
 - Ms Inge Hellemans, Policy advisor, Flemish Authority, Agency for Home Affairs, Belgium
 - Ms Pia Lindfors, Head of Domestic Programme, Finnish Refugee Council
 - Mr El Mokhtar Ghambou, Member of Parliament of Morocco

Next meeting: left it to its Chairperson to convene the next meeting.

Agnieszka Nachilo, Olga Kostenko

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe