

SECRETARIAT

AS/Mig/NM (2015) CB 01 02 April 2015

To the members of the Sub-Committee on Co-operation with non-European countries of origin and transit

of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

Synopsis of the meeting held in Lagos (Portugal) on 30 and 31 March 2015

The Sub-Committee on Co-operation with non-European countries of origin and transit, meeting in Lagos (Portugal), with Mr António Braga (Portugal, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

"North-South Migration Dialogue": held a Conference organised in co-operation with the Parliamentary Projects Support Division of the Assembly and the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe in Portugal in the framework of the Joint Programme "Towards a Strengthened Democratic Governance in the Southern Mediterranean" (South Programme) funded by the European Union and implemented by the Council of Europe, with the involvement of the following participants:

Opening Session:

- Mr Júlio Miranda Calha, Vice-President of the Assembly of the Republic of Portugal
- Mr João Faria, Head of the Political Sector of the European Commission in Portugal
- Ms Maria Joaquina Matos, Mayor of the City of Lagos
- Mr Jean-Marie Heydt, President of the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe
- Panel composed of representatives of relevant Parliamentary Committees from European and Mediterranean Countries:
 - o Ms Amel Bougherara (Algeria)
 - Mr Rachid Khane (Algeria)
 - o Mr Ahmed Ayad (Algeria)
 - o Mr Brecht Vermeulen (Belgium)
 - o Mr Mufleh Oshaibat (Jordan)
 - o Mr Mahmoud Mhidat (Jordan)
 - o Ms Deborah Schembri (Malta)
 - o Mr Mohammed Mehdi Bensiaid (Morocco)
 - o Mr Mohamed Yatim (Morocco)
 - o Mr Abdelmajid Mhachi (Morocco)
 - Mr Bruno Inacio (Portugal)
 - Ms Maria da Conceição Pereira (Portugal)
 - Mr Artur Rego (Portugal)
 - Mr Pedro Roque (Portugal)
 - o Mr Miguel Freitas (Portugal)
 - o Mr Samy Fatnassi (Tunisia)
 - Mr Issam Matoussi (Tunisia)

I - North-South migration: what challenges?

- Mr Laurent de Boeck, Head of the Labour Migration & Human Development Division at the Department of Migration Management, International Organization for Migration (IOM)
- Mr Keith Vaz, MP, Chairman of the Home Affairs Select Committee of the British Parliament
- Mr Mohamed Charef, President of the Regional Commission for Human Rights of Agadir
- Mr Mohamed Khachani, Secretary General of the Moroccan Association of Study and Research on Migration

II - Migration and development

- Mr Mokhtar Ghambou, Member of the Moroccan Parliament
- Mr Michael Kocher, General Manager, Aga Khan Foundation, Ismaili Imamat / Aga Khan Development Network

III - Integration of migrants:

- Mr João Lobo Member of the Portuguese Parliament
- Ms Nezha El Ouafi, Member of the Moroccan Parliament
- Mr Pedro Calado, High Commissioner for Migration in Portugal
- Mr Gerry A. Hayes, Office for the Promotion of Migrant Integration in Ireland

IV - Diaspora: bridge between North and South

- Mr Andrea Rigoni, Rapporteur on "Democratic participation for migrant diaspora"
- Baroness Young of Hornsey, Co-Chairperson of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Diaspora, Development and Migration
- Mr Med Yassine Ennaem, President of the African Diaspora Youth Network in Europe
- Next meeting: left it to its Chairperson to convene the next meeting.

Agnieszka Nachilo, Olga Kostenko

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe