



http://assembly.coe.int

Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Commission du Règlement, des immunités et des affaires institutionnelles

TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF PROCEDURE, IMMUNITIES AND INSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Synopsis

28 January 2013

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Strasbourg on 22 and 24 January 2013, with first Mr Andreas Gross (Switzerland, SOC), oldest member present, and then Ms Nataša Vučković (Serbia, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

- Composition of the Bureau of the Committee:
 - . elected Ms Nataša Vučković (Serbia, SOC), Chairperson,
 - . elected Mr Davit Harutyunyan (Armenia, EDG), 1st Vice-Chairperson,
 - . re-elected Mr Arcadio Diaz Tejera (Spain, SOC), 2nd Vice-Chairperson,
 - . elected Ms Ana Guţu (Republic of Moldova, ALDE), 3rd Vice-Chairperson; 1
- Challenge, on procedural grounds, of still unratified credentials of Ms Zaroulia (Greece, NI) and Mr Gaudi Nagy (Hungary, NI):
 - . considered and unanimously adopted an opinion to the President of the Assembly, in accordance with Rule 7.2 of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure, concluding that the credentials of Ms Zaroulia and Mr Gaudi Naugy should be ratified;
 - . invited the Bureau of the Assembly to ask the committee to examine the question of challenging the still unratified credentials of an individual member whose actions or words seriously and persistently violate the principles and values defended by the Council of Europe;
- The discipline of the members of the Parliamentary Assembly (rapporteur: Mr Christopher Chope, United Kingdom, EDG): held an exchange of views on the basis of an introductory memorandum prepared by the rapporteur and invited the rapporteur to present a draft report at a next meeting;
- Participation of members in Parliamentary Assembly plenary sessions and committee meetings: heard a statement by the Director of General Services of the Assembly, held an exchange of views on the basis of an information memorandum prepared by the secretariat in accordance with Resolution 1583 (2007), approved proposals for the attention of the Bureau of the Assembly for follow-up;
- Europe's public administrations in flux: public service under threat? (rapporteur: Mr Tiny Kox, Netherlands, UEL): heard a statement by the rapporteur and decided to hold a hearing at its next meeting;
- Evaluation of the implementation of the reform of the Parliamentary Assembly: appointed Mr
 Egidijus Vareikis (Lithuania, EPP/CD) rapporteur, and heard from him a declaration on the absence of any conflict of interest;

¹ Under Rule 45.4 of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure, Ms Guţu has to choose between this function and the one of Vice-Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education, Youth and Sport (of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media).

Parliamentary ethics and the prevention of corruption (follow-up to Resolution 1903 (2012)):

- . held an exchange of views with Mr Marin Mrčela, President of the Group of States against Corruption (GRECO), in the framework of the GRECO fourth evaluation round on the prevention of corruption in respect of members of Parliament, judges and prosecutors;
- . asked the Bureau of the Assembly that the committee be seized for opinion on "Corruption as a threat to the Rule of Law", in the framework of the debate on the state of human rights in Europe (Assembly's June 2013 part-session);

Next meetings:

- . in Paris (Office of the Council of Europe), Monday 18 March 2013 (at 2 p.m.) . in Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 2nd part-session of 2013 (22-26 April 2013).

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

CC. Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers **Directors General** Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe