



SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2017) CB 02 rev 15 March 2017

To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Revised synopsis of the meeting held in Paris on 13 March 2017

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Paris on 13 March 2017, with Ms Liliane Maury Pasquier (Switzerland, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

- Budgets and priorities of the Council of Europe for the biennium 2018-2019 and Expenditure of the Parliamentary Assembly for the biennium 2018-2019 (Rapporteur: Mr George Loucaides, Cyprus, UEL): in the absence of the rapporteur, took note of an information memorandum, held an exchange of views on the budgetary prospects of the Organisation with Mr Wojciech Sawicki, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly, and Ms Alison Sidebottom, Director of Programme and Budget of the Council of Europe, and invited the rapporteur to present draft reports at its next meeting;

- Follow-up to Resolution 1903 (2012): promoting and strengthening transparency, accountability and integrity of Parliamentary Assembly members (Rapporteur: Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger, United Kingdom, EC): in the absence of the rapporteur, held a hearing with the participation of Ms Kathryn Hudson, Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards, United Kingdom, Ms Chiara Malasomma, Head of Unit, and Ms Elisabeth Bauer, Administrator, Transparency Unit, Directorate for Interinstitutional Affairs and Legislative Coordination, European Parliament, and invited the rapporteur to present a draft report at its next meeting;

- Defending the acquis of the Council of Europe: preserving 65 years of successful intergovernmental co-operation (Rapporteur: Mr Tiny Kox, Netherlands, UEL): in the absence of the rapporteur, decided to postpone this item to its next meeting;

- Effective representation and participation in the Parliamentary Assembly of opposition parliamentarians in the member States (Rapporteur: Mr Jordi Xuclà, Spain, ALDE): heard a statement by the rapporteur on his fact-finding visits to Ankara (Turkey) on 1 March 2017 and to Chisinau (Republic of Moldova) on 2 March 2017 and invited him to present a preliminary draft report at a next meeting;

 Parliamentary immunity: challenges to the scope of the privileges and immunities enjoyed by members of the Parliamentary Assembly: decided to postpone the consideration of the reply by the Committee of Ministers to Assembly Recommendation 2095 (2016) to its next meeting;

International Conference on "The interaction between the political majority and the opposition in a democracy" (Bucharest, 6-7 April 2017): decided to set up an *ad hoc* Sub-Committee to participate in the conference organised by the Venice Commission in co-operation with the Presidency of Romania, made a call for candidates, appointed Ms Liliane Maury Pasquier, Mr Jordi Xuclà and Mr Serhii Kiral who expressed their interest and authorised the Chairperson to appoint other members who would confirm their interest to the Secretariat of the Committee by 24 March 2017;

- Next meetings: decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

 - in Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 2nd part-session (24-28 April 2017) in Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 3rd part-session (26-30 June 2017) in Paris (Office of the Council of Europe), joint meeting with the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media on 21 September and plenary meeting on 22 September 2017 (to be confirmed)
 - in Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 4th part-session (9-13 October 2017).

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

Copy to:

Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers **Directors General** Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe