

SECRETARIAT

AS/SOC/EE (2016) SYN 01

4 October 2016

To the members of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development

Synopsis of the meeting held in Lviv (Ukraine), on 29 September 2016

The Sub-Committee on Environment and Energy (of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development), meeting in Lviv on 29 September 2016 with Mr Serhii Kiral (Ukraine, EC), Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, in the Chair, as regards:

- Follow-up to the Paris Climate Change agreement: parliamentary action plan: held an exchange of views with:
 - Ms Natalie Kushko, Low Emission Development Strategies Task Leader, USAID Project (Ukraine);
 - Lord John Prescott, Parliamentary Spokesperson on climate change issues, Member of the House of Lords (United Kingdom);
- Energy efficiency and alternative sources of energy: held an exchange of views with:
 - Mr Anders Lund, Associate Director to the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), Fund Manager to E5P Eastern Europe Energy Efficiency and Environment Partnership, Kviv (Ukraine):
 - Ms Jurei Yada, Policy Adviser, International Partnership for Energy Efficiency Cooperation (IPEEC), Paris (France);
- Water governance: heard a statement by the Chairperson;
- Site visit: visited the Grybovychi landfill;
- Waste management: moving towards a circular economy: held an exchange of views with:
 - Mr David Albertani, Program Director, R20 Regions of Climate Action, Geneva (Switzerland);
 - Mr Alexei Atudorei, Board Member of International Solid Waste Association (ISWA), Bucharest (Romania);
- Date and place of next meeting: to be decided.

Alina Beliaeva

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe