3 March 1997       Doc. 7757

ADOC7757       Revised


on the adoption of a system of European time zones

presented by Mr BRIANE and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

1.       The definition of universal time has been laid down in international conventions signed by the states, and twenty-four time zones each measuring fifteen degrees form the conventional reference for time on our planet. The movement of the Earth within the solar system and its roundness create variations in daytime, according to latitude and season.

2.       Those countries of a continental dimension or extending across a wide geographical area and, consequently, covering several time zones, have adopted a system of time zones corresponding to the scope of their territory without this affecting national unity or economic and social organisation, or causing any kind of domestic incompatibility.

3.       Furthermore, it is important, in terms of both health and environment for countries to be able to live in harmony with the time dictated by the meridians corresponding to their geographic location and, in particular, their longitude.

4.       It seems unreasonable, therefore, to imagine that Europe could adopt one and the same official time while the continent now covers, from East to West, four time zones within the universal time system.

5.       Consequently, the Assembly urges the governments of member state to:

i.       take the fullest possible account of the solar system and the influence of the sun on the lives of humans and the existence of all life forms on our planet;

ii.        definitively abandon artificial "summer" time systems;

iii.       adopt a system of European time zones.

Signed: 1

Briane, France, EPP

Assis Miranda, Portugal, SOC

Bianchi, Italy, EPP

Bolinaga, Spain, EPP

Christodoulides, Cyprus, UEL

Gnaga, Italy, LDR

Jaruga-Nowacka, Poland, SOC

Lukáš, Czech Republic, EPP

Martínez Casań, Spain, EPP

Molnár, Hungary, SOC

Rodeghiero, Italy, LDR

Sobyanin, Russia, NR

Speroni, Italy, LDR

1 1       SOC: Socialist Group

      EPP: Group of the European People's Party

      EDG: European Democratic Group

      LDR: Liberal, Democratic and Reformers Group

      UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

      NR: Not registered