Doc. 8644
4 February 2000

Freedom of movement in Europe

Motion for a recommendation

presented by Mr Dumitrescu and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only

the members who have signed it

1.       Having regard to the decision by the Helsinki European Council to invite Romania to begin negotiations in preparation for membership;

2.       Having regard to the proposal for a European Union Regulation concerning a common policy on visas (entered on the agenda of the European Commission for 26 January 2000, and which will be submitted to the Ministerial Council of the European Union for adoption);

3.       Considering the favourable context, which tends towards eliminating the differences in treatment that exist between the applicant states for membership of the European Union;

4.       Given that the right to freedom of movement for citizens of Council of Europe member states within any country in this area represents a fundamental human right expressly set forth in the European Convention on Human Rights;

5.       Given that the Romanian authorities have recently taken effective measures in order to strengthen border controls and to combat organised crime and drug trafficking;

6.       Given Romania's maintenance on the "black list" of countries whose citizens are obliged to obtain entry visas in order to be able to travel in the member countries of the European Union as well as in other Council of Europe member countries;

7.       Given that such discriminatory treatment has no reasonable basis and represents a serious restriction on the right of Romanian citizens to travel in the member countries of the Council of Europe,

The Assembly recommends that the Committee of Ministers take the necessary measures to remove the obligation to obtain an entry visa for Council of Europe member countries.

Signed (see overleaf)

Signed : 1

Dumitrescu, Romania, SOC

Besostri, Italy SOC

Davis, United Kingdom, SOC

Elo, Finland, SOC

Frunda, Romania, EPP/CD

Gross, Switzerland, SOC

Hoeffel, France, EPP/CD

Hrebenciuc, Romania, SOC

Kirkhill, United Kingdom, SOC

Lauricella, Italy, SOC

Niculescu, Romania, SOC

Schieder, Austria, SOC

Surjan, Hungary, EPP/CD

van der Linden, Netherlands, EPP/CD

Vella, Malta, EPP/CD

1        SOC: Socialist Group