Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



Doc. 11264 19 April 2007

The infringement of the dignity of the victims of German Nazi concentration camps by some Russian media

Written Declaration No 394

This written declaration commits only the members who have signed it

With great indignation we note the fact that some Russian media are exploiting the memory of the victims of the concentration camp in Oświęcim (Auschwitz). They accuse the Director of the Auschwitz Museum and the International Auschwitz Council of closing the Russian exhibition.

The first USSR exhibition was opened in the museum in 1961. In 2003, the Russians proposed creating a new exhibition as a result of which the former exhibition was closed.

Substantive differences in views emerged on nomenclature of territories and population, which, due to the activities of the USSR following the Ribbentrop-Molotow Pact, found themselves under the control of the USSR in the period 1939 to 1941, namely the territories of the Baltic States, the eastern part of Poland, as well as part of Romania. Their population cannot be treated as citizens of the USSR. They did not renounce their former citizenship and did not voluntarily adopt Soviet citizenship.

These differences have yet to be resolved.

The position of the museum is supported by the International Auschwitz Council headed by Professor Władysław Bartoszewski, comprising former prisoners of the camp, as well as international historians and experts.

We strongly disapprove of any attempts to exploit the memory of KL Auschwitz victims for reinterpreting history.

Signed (see overleaf)

Doc. 11264

Signed: 1

KARSKI Karol, Poland, EDG BENDER Ryszard, Poland, EDG ČEKUOLIS Jonas, Lithuania, ALDE EÖRSI Mátyás, Hungary, ALDE GACEK Urszula, Poland, EPP/CD GIRZYŃSKI Zbigniew, Poland, EDG GRZYB Andrzej, Poland, EPP/CD HERKEL Andres, Estonia, EPP/CD IWIŃSKI Tadeusz, Poland, SOC JAKAVONIS Gediminas, Lithuania, ALDE JAZŁOWIECKA Danuta, Poland, EPP/CD JURGENS Erik, Netherlands, SOC KAWA Marek, Poland, NR LIBICKI, Jan Filip, Poland, EDG LIPIŃSKI, Dariusz, Poland, EPP/CD MELČÁK, Miloš, Czech Republic, SOC SEVERINSEN, Hanne, Denmark, ALDE STAPONKIENĖ, Aldona, Lithuania, EDG VAREIKIS, Egidijus, Lithuania, EPP/CD WACH, Piotr, Poland, EPP/CD WITA, Tadeusz, Poland, EDG

Total = 21

SOC: Socialist Group

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe

EDG: European Democratic Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

NR: not registered in a group