See related documents

Motion for a resolution | Doc. 13487 | 09 April 2014

The status of immediate past presidents of the Parliamentary Assembly in the Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy

Signatories: Mr Pedro AGRAMUNT, Spain, EPP/CD ; Mr Miloš ALIGRUDIĆ, Serbia, EDG ; Mr Brian BINLEY, United Kingdom, EDG ; Mr Jean-Marie BOCKEL, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Şaban DİŞLİ, Turkey, EPP/CD ; Ms Aleksandra DJUROVIĆ, Serbia, EPP/CD ; Ms Doris FIALA, Switzerland, ALDE ; Mr Axel E. FISCHER, Germany, EPP/CD ; Mr Gvozden Srećko FLEGO, Croatia, SOC ; Mr Bernard FOURNIER, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Hans FRANKEN, Netherlands, EPP/CD ; Mr Giuseppe GALATI, Italy, EPP/CD ; Ms Dzhema GROZDANOVA, Bulgaria, EPP/CD ; Mr Giorgi KANDELAKI, Georgia, EPP/CD ; Mr Jacques LEGENDRE, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Thierry MARIANI, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Jean-Claude MIGNON, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Ivan POPESCU, Ukraine, SOC ; Mr Andrea RIGONI, Italy, ALDE ; Mr André SCHNEIDER, France, EPP/CD ; Ms Lorella STEFANELLI, San Marino, EPP/CD ; Ms Karin STRENZ, Germany, EPP/CD ; Ms Chiora TAKTAKISHVILI, Georgia, ALDE ; Lord John E. TOMLINSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Volker ULLRICH, Germany, EPP/CD ; Mr Johann WADEPHUL, Germany, EPP/CD ; Ms Marie-Jo ZIMMERMANN, France, EPP/CD

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only those who have signed it.

Presently, pursuant to Article 19-3 of the Rules of Procedure of the Parliamentary Assembly, the immediate past President of the Assembly shall be ex officio member of the Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy, but may not take part in votes, nor be appointed rapporteur, nor be elected to the Bureau of that committee and its sub-committees, which substantially reduces the interest of being such a member.

The Assembly should consider aligning the status of the immediate past President of the Assembly with those of chairmen of political groups and amending Article 19-3 of the Rules of Procedure.